A Positive Outlook on Life

June 24, 2015, Day 39

I wasn’t quite sure what to write about today. Sometimes themes will present themselves readily and in great abundance. So much so, that I make a list of themes for a week at a time. Other times I ponder and labour to find one.

Today it happened out of the blue.

From what, any other day, would have been a mundane call to my husband about groceries, came, via some giggles and a laughs and a bit of healthy craziness, the birth of today’s theme. “A Positive Outlook on Life”.

I know and accept that life can be a pain in the rear and that it can leave you in no mood to smile. Life is living through ups and downs, and it is our attitude to what is happening that either helps or hinders us. For the longest time, until I was about 40, I felt powerless, a victim, drifting along and that was hard. I felt insecure, fat and ugly.

All it took for change to occur was for me to drop anchor and take things from that point.

When I met my 2nd husband things changed. It was through his love and non-judgemental acceptance and example, that I dared to hope, dared to dream and try.

I gained strength and courage to be myself. It was so hard to discard the expectations I had of myself in order to please others, to be accepted by them, gain their approval and to be seen as of value.

It was a long hard slog to get where I am today, and we had many ups and downs and sometimes I ended up all over the place but I got here.

So, how does one come by “A Positive Outlook on Life”.

  1. Weeding: Weed out the things in your life that dis-empower you, that de-value you, toxic relationships, unhealthy attitudes and habits.
  2. Replanting: Take charge of what you want to have in your life. Build yourself-esteem up by maybe getting some therapy and surrounding yourself with supporting friends. Change your diet. A plant-based, low-fat, low-sugar, unprocessed, high-fibre diet will not only relieve the pressure your body is under but it will also help to relieve mental and emotional pressure. Work on the way you think. Practice makes perfect. So, when negative, unhelpful, unhealthy thoughts pop up in your mind, picture them as the enemy, as liars and firmly show them the door. Then, re-affirm all the positives about you and your life.

A positive outlook on life will attract positive people.

I am not saying it is easy, and I am not saying that it doesn’t require maintenance. What I am saying is hat you will get out of it what you put into it.

Everyday ask yourself,”What do I want, and what am I willing to do to make it happen?”.

Be the captain of your ship.

Breakfast: none

Lunch: 2 Sourdough Buns, Bean Paste, Salad

Dinner: Pasta & Bean Sauce

Leave a Reply

