Bread

June 28, 2015, Day 43, Week 6:-5 ¼ lb, Total Loss: 20 3/4 lb
Weight Loss Support Group

For me bread is comfort and satisfaction, much like potatoes. But not all bread is created equal.

I grew up in Germany not far from the Dutch boarder, and bread was not the insubstantial, chemical puffball of malnutrition.

The bread I grew up with was a whole wheat, whole rye, whole oat, whole grain, sour-dough nutrition bomb.

Though I did not appreciate it as much as I should have at the time, I came to long for it with a passion when I moved to the UK, where even the wholemeal bread was more air than substance.

Quite a few years ago now I started baking bread. Then I learned to make my very own sour-dough. It was the beginning of creating a little bit of what I had left behind right here.

There is great satisfaction and a sense of achievement in making your own bread. It is a way of claiming back some control over your life, well, that and it tastes so much better than anything you can buy in supermarkets.

But please, be aware that there are healthy and unhealthy bread recipes out there. It is up to you to make the right choice for you.

I hope you will give bread making a go. Bon Appetit!

Breakfast: none

Lunch: Wholemeal 3 Grain Pillow Pancake

Dinner: Stir-Fry Vegetables on Wholemeal Toast, Grapefruit

Supper: Porridge

Drinks: 3 cups of Coffee & Soy Milk, 1.5 l Water

Leave a Reply

